Kefir

So this is my next little project. I got my kefir in the mail the other day and of course immediately read through the instructions and set to rehydrating my kefir grains. I boiled my tap water to remove the chlorine and then pour it from my kettle into a mason jar. I added some white refined sugar and then a bit of molasses. I didn’t measure either thing, because I’m a rebel like that. Or rather because at this point I can pretty well eyeball a few tablespoons. Not that any of my cups and spoons is labeled these days… the numbers have long since worn off. Anyway… the sugar dissolved into the hot water nicely, but then the mixture not want to cool. So I stuck it in the fridge for a bit. Only when it hit room temperature did I add the grains… so as not to kill the bacteria. Which would just be an awful shame… but totally something I would do….

Image

 

They kinda look gross, right? But not as bad at a kombucha SCOBY. If you can drink what comes from that thing, this is no big deal for sure. I’m pretty excited. They have to sit in the mixture pictured below for another day or two before I renew the sugar mix and let them ferment it. I’ll try adding a little himalayan salt for minerals and the same refined sugar and molasses ratios… plus a touch of baking soda to promote growth. Did I mention that I bought this for FREE using Amazon gift cards I got from doing Swagbucks? I do practically nothing on that site… The occasional search, and the daily poll, and I earn money. How cool is that? You can of course do more… they have tons of offers, but I’m lazy and don’t want to do anything that might result in spam or require my personal information. swagbucks.com/refer/mrsmusic

Image

Considering the GREAT weather we’re having, my first flavor choice is going to be a nice tropical mango. Mostly because I have some torani sitting around from like more than a year ago and I’ve not found an excuse to go through it. Not as healthy as just dropping in some pure vanilla, or real fruit… but frugal.

20140430_104712

Just a quick peak at how the grains are doing. They’ve plumped up some. That’s my ring to the side there… I needed to put something in the picture to make my camera focus. But it also gives a pretty good size comparison. My ring is about the size of a penny.

2 thoughts on “Kefir

  1. Hi there! I haven’t been on your blog in ages. I hope your kefir turned out well! We drink a lot of kombucha & I actually make my own. Let me know if you ever want a SCOBY…I have a slew of extras.

    Did you guys ever find raw milk that you liked?

    • I haven’t been on my OWN blog in ages. We’ve just been getting goat milk from my MIL. 🙂 And I’m now overrun with SCOBYs… but have come up with a pumpkin spice flavor we all love.

Leave a Reply

