Ups and Downs

It really does seem like when something is going right, something else has to be going catastrophically wrong, doesn’t it? Like we should be forever anticipating the proverbial “other shoe” whenever life is going smoothly for once.

We’ve been using GraspChinese.com lessons for K to learn some conversational stuff. Today we made it through lesson 3 and stuff seems to have sunk in. She also decided to read, all on her own. She just picked up a book and asked to read to her little brother. How can anyone not be proud of that? We’re trying to work on her penmanship and sentence structure as well. K wrote me a note on my refrigerator white board yesterday informing me that she would be in her room for the next hour taking some time to herself… and it was illegible. She ran out of room and just randomly popped words between other words. I was pretty sure that trying to decode it would result in an aneurysm. So today I busted out the manuscript paper and we wrote some classic nursery rhymes. And then the ABCs in upper and lower case. In unrelated news… K lost another tooth.

As for the things going wrong… Oh. There aren’t enough words. Let’s just say, I enjoy having water. And our utilities company is apparently run by insensitive jerks. Who don’t know the merits of having water when you have a house full of littles.

I started P90X yesterday. I’m a little worried about doing plyo today during nap when I know I can’t take a shower afterwards. I took my measurements this morning. I need to do plyo. I’m not going to share them. Just believe me when I say that it is true. Anyone else into fitness? I’ve been missing it lately. I was getting into the whole bodybuilding thing for a while over the spring. I miss my abs. Admittedly, I just snuck the leg off a gingerbread man… But I’ve been dieting the past few days and I’m excited to start seeing results rather than gain weight over the holidays.

4 thoughts on “Ups and Downs

  1. I jog… very, very slowly. Pain is not for me, so I’ve never tried P90X. You go, girl! Also, I found that– when I was injured and couldn’t run, I did yoga– and I actually lost weight. Who knew?

    • Yoga X is honestly one of my favorite DVDs in the program. It’s awesome for muffin top and that hard to reach fat over the back of my jeans… My first favorite DVD is Kenpo X though. Is there anything more fun than punching and kicking the air? It’s like being a kid and pretending you were a power ranger. šŸ˜‰
      I don’t run. I considered it… but there’s really no time of day I can do it with 3 kids at home and my husband leaving and arriving in the dark these days.

  2. Kudos to you! I tried to get back running again together with my 2.5 year old daughter. But after the second day, she came to me and said, “Mama, Mama, no track field. No.” There goes my regime. šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

