Pumpkin Butter

Homeschooling has become a pretty smooth routine for us. K is finally embracing reading… with a little bribery. I’m hoping some new books will spark her interest and she’ll develop a love for it. The kids have learned the days of the week. (In Chinese too.) We’re working on telling time. They’ve got the basics down. I’ll be trying to teach them that 3 is 15 and 6 is 30 etc. over the next few weeks. I haven’t been blogging due to my propensity for procrastination, my habitual blog neglect… and a lack of inspiring stories.

Image

We carved our first pumpkin of the season. K has her Tinkerbell costume. We need to pick up costumes for the boys this week (see my aforementioned procrastination issue.) With the kids away for the weekend, we’re planning on doing some “Drunken Pumpkin” carving tonight. I found some stencils online so I’m planning on doing a Mickey Mouse face and Jack Skellington.

I made pumpkin butter in the crockpot with the insides of the first pumpkin. I’m planning cookies, more pumpkin butter, some pumpkin spice coffee creamer and just some basic puree with the next few. So relatives can be expecting butters and syrups this year for Christmas. (I love Pinterest.) I may even get some cute jars for stuff. I’ve been reusing the Kerr and Ball jars that used to house some homemade applesauce. Trying my hand at some gingerbread coffee syrup soon too. I put pumpkin butter and almond milk in my coffee this morning and it tasted just like October should.

K and I have decided to work on knitting. Well, I’m working on it. She is just expressing interest. Figure we can get some yarn and needles for Christmas. For which we have just started our shopping. The boys are super easy to shop for this year, as they’ve not stopped being superheroes for like 2 weeks straight. They are constantly in costume and/or wearing a mask. K has too but there’s just less comic stuff for girls, I think. Any suggestions on great gifts for 6 year old girls?

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Butter

    • Sure. First I made the puree, but you could used canned stuff if you want. I made a double batch. So 30oz of puree, 1.5 cups brown sugar, nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves, and ginger (or pumpkin pie spice, if you’ve got it on hand… I don’t ever) and a cup of apple juice. Put it in the crockpot for 5+ hours or until it sticks to the spoon when you stir it. 😉

Leave a Reply

