Week 2 (the first half) In which there are fish

We have a pretty good schedule going, in my opinion. The core subjects are done every day. And then we alternate in science experiments and lessons, time with puzzles and just whatever catches our interest. The kids are catching on with their Chinese faster than I anticipated. And in ways I couldn’t predict. My two year old has been singing songs and using phrases he picks up on Kai-Lan when he’s just watching TV, and I think it’s because we have had a lot of extra language exposure the last week. They can easily sing all the words to Ni Wa Wa, and Two Tigers. Recognize a few others. And can identify weather, living room furniture and some body parts. So I started teaching them a body parts song. I figure we can start playing Simon Says.

K has yet to show much of an interest in reading. She does her best to avoid it. But she’s good with her sight words on flash cards. So we’ll just keep working on it. I figured she’d love to read because I do. I told her that Belle loves to read, which is why The Beast gave her that library. I’m hoping that inspires her. It probably wont. She has no problem sitting down to do her math workbooks though. And she’s trucking through them with relative ease.  We also do counting songs. Count to 100 by 1s, 2s, 5s, and 10s. The boys are easily counting to 20. Everyone recognizes the alphabet in lower and uppercase.

School seems to be going well thus far. Not nearly as frustrating as I expected. I imagine that will come later. Especially after a conversation with K in Costco the other night…

“What kind of salmon is that?”

“It’s not salmon. It is tilapia.”

“What kind of salmon is tilapia?”

“It’s not salmon at all. It’s a different fish. It’s tilapia.”

“Well what kind of fish is it?”

2 thoughts on “Week 2 (the first half) In which there are fish

  1. Maybe you could try on K an audio book with text for young children. There are quite a few of them on the Internet. You can check out the text first to determine if it is at her reading level.

Leave a Reply

